People in the Museum

Reenacted history and tradesmen

The Open Air Museum is a museum about people. How they used to live and what they used to do take centre stage. The people in the museum - „peasant woman", "blacksmith", „mouse-trap pedlar"... - have been trained to explain their traditional tasks and their historical background to visitors. Many of these players appear in the framework of the program „Reenacted History" as contemporary witnesses in the first person!


When can you see whom in the Museum?

Most of the players and artisans are in the museum during regular hours. It can happen, time and again, that these hours have to be rearranged, in order to better coordinate organizational procedures in the museum.

If you would like to know up-to-date information about who will currently be in the museum, please consult our reception staff on Tel. +49 (0)2443 / 99800.


Lockers

You can store your luggage in lockers by the entrance and reception desks.

Information about projects, guided tours and courses

All projects, guided tours and courses can be found here. You can also call at kulturinfo and get advice or book: Tel. 02234/9921555, info@kulturinfo-rheinland.de

Kids’ Carts

By the entrance and reception desks you can hire a kids’ cart (Bollerwagen) to pull behind you for a fee of 3 €. During the year the museum offers a series of events and activities especially for children. You can find details about them in the Annual Program.

Walking frames

The Friends of the Museum have purchased walking framesfor the museum, which can be borrowed at the entrance / reception desk.

Lost Property

Lost and found property is kept at the entrance/reception desks. Tel. 02443-9980140

Barrier-free Access

The Open Air Museum is situated on a hilltop and therefore includes gradients of up to 17 % in some places. The footpaths are largely made of cobblestones, as well as water-bound surfaces. Between the individual Groups of Buildings there are benches in the grounds, as well as picnic areas with tables. … more about barrier-free access

Dogs in the Museum

Naturally, your dog is allowed to come into the museum with you. But please keep the dog on a short leash (reel-leashes must be locked) while observing the usual legal regulations. Unfortu-nately, dogs are not allowed into the houses and exhibition halls.

Photography

You will encounter subjects for photographic and video recordings all over the grounds. Natural-ly, you are welcome to photograph or film them, but only for private purposes to remember your visit. The commercial use or publication of such images is not permitted. For further in-formation check out Photography in the Museum.

Menschen im Museum

Bauer zeigt Kindern einen Wannkorb mit Getreide

Gespielte Geschichte und Handwerker

Im LVR-Freilichtmuseum Kommern stehen die Menschen und ihr Leben und Wirken in früherer Zeit im Mittelpunkt. Einige Personen, denen Sie bei Ihrem Museumsbesuch begegnen können, erklären Ihnen traditionelle Arbeiten und geschichtliche Hintergründe.

Treffen Sie die Ordensschwester Clara Fey, die Bäuerin Anna Ippendorf und Sybilla Schmitz, die feine Dame aus der Stadt. Auf dem Marktplatz Rheinland begegnet Ihnen vielleicht der Ortsvorsteher Karl-Otto Poensgen.

Beobachten Sie die Vorführhandwerker und –Handwerkerinnen Schmied, Stellmacher, Weber oder die Korbflechterin. Auch die Hauswirtschafterinnen können bei ihren Tätigkeiten erlebt werden.


Mausefallenkrämerin zeigt Kindern Mausefallen

Wann ist wer im Museum zu sehen?

Wenn Sie ganz aktuell wissen möchten, wer im Museum sein wird, wenden Sie sich bitte an unser Kassenpersonal unter Tel. 02443 / 99800.


Häufige Fragen

Schließfächer

Gepäck können Sie in Schließfächern an der Kassenanlage aufbewahren.

Informationen über Projekte, Führungen und Kurse

Alle Projekte, Führungen und Kurse finden Sie hier. Sie können auch bei kulturinfo rheinland anrufen und sich beraten lassen oder buchen: Tel. 02234 / 9921555, info@kulturinfo-rheinland.de

Bollerwagen

Am Kassenbereich können Bollerwagen gegen eine Gebühr von 3 € ausgeliehen werden. Das Museum bietet über das Jahr verteilt eine Reihe an Veranstaltungen und Aktionen für Kinder an. Details hierzu finden Sie im Jahresprogramm.

Rollatoren

Der Förderverein hat für das Museum Rollatoren angeschafft, die an der Kasse ausgeliehen werden können.

Fundsachen

Fundsachen werden an der Kasse aufbewahrt. Tel. 02443-9980140

Barrierefreiheit

Das Freilichtmuseum liegt auf einer Kuppe und verfügt daher über einige Steigungen von teilweise bis zu 17 %. Die Wege bestehen zu einem großen Teil aus Kopfsteinpflaster sowie aus wassergebundener Decke. Auf dem Gelände befinden sich zwischen den einzelnen Baugruppen Sitzbänke und Picknickplätze mit Tischen. Detaillierte Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Hunde im Museum

Ihr Hund darf natürlich mit ins Museum kommen. Aber bitte nur an der kurzen Leine (Rollleinen müssen arretiert werden) unter Beachtung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen. In die Häuser und Ausstellungshallen kann er leider nicht rein.

Fotografieren

Überall werden Ihnen Motive für Foto- und Videoaufnahmen begegnen. Gerne dürfen Sie natürlich fotografieren oder filmen, aber nur zu privaten Zwecken für Ihre Erinnerungen. Eine kommerzielle Nutzung ist nicht gestattet. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter Fotografieren im Museum.